Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga and TwentyOne Pilots Lead MTV EMA 2016 Wins

Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga and TwentyOne Pilots tied with two gongs each at this year’s MTV European Music Awards (EMAs).

The ‘What Do You Mean’ hitmaker, the 30-year-old pop star and the musical duo tied at the glamorous event, held in Rotterdam, Netherlands, on Sunday (06.16.16) with two prizes each.

The 22-year-old singer – who racked up five nominations – walked away with the trophy for Best Song for his hit ‘Sorry’ and the Biggest Fans category for his loyal supporters, Beliebers.

Gaga – who’s known for her eccentric style – was equally successful with the award for Best Look and Best Female, while the ‘Heathens’ hitmakers, comprised of Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun, swiped Best Alternative Act and Best Live Artist.

The gong for Best Video went to The Weeknd for ‘Starboy’ ft Daft Punk, Shawn Mendes nabbed Best Male Artist, while ‘Lush Life’ hitmaker Zara Larsson, from Sweden, got Best New Artist.

Coldplay – comprised of Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman and Will Champion – picked up Best Rock Act, while Fifth Harmony, which formed on ‘The X Factor USA’ in 2012 and consists of Dinah Jane Hansen, Ally Brooke, Normani Hamilton, Camila Cabello and Lauren Jauregui, scooped Best Pop Act.

Drake was crowned Best Hip Hop Act, Martin Garrix nabbed Best Electronic Artist, while DNCE got Best Push Act.

Green Day were in for a special treat as they were dished out the Global Icon Award, while Little Mix lead the way for the British with a gong for the Best UK and Ireland Act.

However, not everyone was so lucky as Beyoncé was up for Best Video for her comeback single ‘Formation’, Best Female, Best Live and Best Local Act (US) but came away with nothing.

And Adele was in a similar position as she managed to scoop four nods last month but failed to deliver on the night.

The full list of MTV EMA winners 2016 are as follows;

Best Song – ‘Sorry’ by Justin Bieber

Best Video – ‘Starboy’ by The Weeknd ft Daft Punk

Best Female Artist – Lady Gaga

Best Male Artist – Shawn Mendes

Best Live Artist – Twenty One Pilots

Best New Artist – Zara Larsson

Best Pop Act – Fifth Harmony

Best Rock Act – Coldplay

Best Alternative Act- Twenty One Pilots

Best Hip Hop Act – Drake

Best Electronic Artist – Martin Garrix

Best Push Act – DNCE

Biggest Fans – Justin Bieber

Best Look – Lady Gaga

Best World Stage – Martin Garrix, Isle Of MTV Malta 2015

Global Icon Award – Green Day

Best UK & Ireland – Little Mix

*Story courtesy of Bang Showbiz

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

seven + 9 =

Subscribe       Advertise      Sitemap     Privacy Policy

facebook_icon   twitter_icon   tumbler_icon   instagram_icon   snapchat_icon   pinterest_icon   youtube_icon

™ + © 2016 Blu Inc Media Sdn. Bhd. (7208-K) All rights reserved.
Lot 7, Jalan Bersatu 13/4,Section 13, 46200 Petaling Jaya,Selangor, Malaysia.


Get your e-copy of CLEO here: