It’s Official: Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad Is Malaysia’s 7th Prime Minister

Update: Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was sworn in as Malaysia’s 7th Prime Minister just now at 9:57pm. The Pakatan Harapan chairman took his oath before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at the Istana Negara.

The 92-year-old was accompanied by his wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah, DAP stalwart Lim Kit Siang, PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, vice-president Nurul Izzah Anwar, Parti Amanah Negara president Mohamad Sabu and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad is the world’s oldest prime minister and the only Malaysian to take the chair twice after coming out of his 15 year retirement.

*info sourced from Star Malaysia

*Featured image has been sourced from Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad’s official Instagram account

It’s official and it’s unprecedented: the Election Commission has announced that Pakatan Harapan has won The 14th General Election (GE14). For the first time in Malaysian history, since 1955, an opposition party has achieved a simple majority in Parliament  — and it will form the next federal government.

Parliamentary seats. Image:

Yesterday, on the 9th of May 2018 Malaysia took to the polls with also an unprecedented turnout. Social media was abuzz and flooded with voters excited about exercising their right, with first-time voters showing off their inked fingers.

Pakatan Harapan is victorious today. Image Credit: Berita Harian/Eizairi Shamsudin

The Pakatan Harapan coalition, comprising Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, PKR, DAP and Parti Amanah Negara, won 113 seats, followed by Barisan Nasional with 79 seats. Pas won 18 seats, Parti Warisan Sabah won eight seats and Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku with one seat. Three independent candidates won seats in Parliament. There are a total of 222 seats.*

The most notable things about Pakatan Harapan is that this coalition formed in 2015 is led by its Chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad (who was Malaysia’s fourth Prime Minister from 1981 to 2003). It is most likely the former Prime Minister Mahatir Mohamad and the coalition president, Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, will be Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia.

In conjunction with its win, Pakatan Harapan promised their announced public holiday for the whole of Malaysia on the 10th and 11th of May 2018.

* Info sourced from New Straits Times newspaper